如何将尤克里里琴连接到拾音器上

删除这些广告

比尔,又名 "Calypso_Poet"(在传统的Ukuworld论坛上)问了一个非常有趣的问题,我以前没有遇到过。他有一把 "原声 "尤克里里,想知道如何给你的尤克里里通电。这意味着如何将尤克里里与拾音器连接起来,或者换句话说,如何在尤克里里上添加某种拾音器,以便你能将其放大。

维基百科的话说,拾级而上

拾音装置是一个传感器,它可以捕捉或感应到乐器产生的机械振动。然后将其转换为电信号,用乐器放大器进行放大。其结果是什么?它通过扬声器外壳中的一个扬声器产生音乐声音。

我自己说得再好不过了。拾音器从20世纪50年代就开始出现了。它们使我们能够放大来自四弦琴的声音。被送入你的尤克里里琴身以创造可爱的尤克里里琴声音的振动也可以被拾音器拾起。这意味着你可以将它们放大,并通过扬声器传输。使用带拾音器的尤克里里可以让你为更多的人演奏。这也使得添加很酷的放大效果成为可能。

电动四弦琴,带硬琴包和扩音器

最近出现了很多不同的拾音器,特别是针对尤克里里琴的。如果你是第一次看拾音器,这可能会让你很困惑。为了简单起见,你可以把它们分为两大类:有源和无源拾音器。

带有无源压电拾音器的尤克里里琴

在吉他上,无源或压电拾音器是 "原始 "的磁性拾音器。在没有太多细节的情况下,它们是由许多铜线线圈围绕着永久磁铁组成的,通常由铝镍钴或陶瓷制成。磁铁靠近琴弦的位置使琴弦被磁化,从而使它们也成为磁性的。

当琴弦振动时,它们扰乱了磁场,导致电流通过铜线,这是代表该特定振动的电流。这种电流可以被放大并转化为声音。绝大多数的吉他拾音器都是无源的。

尤克里里琴无源拾音器的结构有些不同,但原理是一样的。由于它们的结构,这些拾音器将来自你的尤克里里琴弦的 "原始 "信号发送到你的放大器或扬声器(有一个前置放大器)。它们能提供更饱满、更自然的声音。它们也比有源拾音器轻得多(继续阅读以了解原因)。

无源拾音器的问题是,所涉及的线圈可以传递大量的嗡嗡声和背景干扰。被动式拾音器在用力时对反馈也相当敏感。另一个缺点是它们确实需要一个外部前置放大器。这意味着你不能直接将你的尤克里里插入扬声器。不过,任何原声(吉他)放大器都可以工作得很好。

更大的动态范围

无源拾音器,尽管有缺点,但有更大的动态范围。如果你是那种喜欢从低声细语到尖叫哀号的演奏者,那么无源设置可能最适合你的演奏风格。更重要的是,这些类型往往会失去高频的细节,而增强低频,使其具有更温暖的音色。

Kremona(KNA)UK-1(69美元)是一个无源四弦琴拾音器,安装起来并不困难。它相当受欢迎,木质外壳看起来不错,使用方便,对你的尤克里里完全没有干扰性,适合大多数尤克里里。最好的安装方式是在你更换琴弦的时候。

Kremona KNA UK-1 ukele拾音器无源压电式

如果你想提高它的档次,并且不怕在你的四弦琴上钻一个(小)洞,那么K&K Sound Aloha Twin双压电拾音器(79美元)就很适合你。K&K是一家非常受欢迎的制造商,它生产的无源拾音器不仅适用于尤克里里,也适用于吉他、曼陀林和班卓琴。虽然这些东西一开始安装起来比较麻烦,但安装后几乎没有明显区别。在每次重新弹奏时也没有像Kremona的UK-1那样重新安装的麻烦。由于它们的 "体内 "双重设置,它们的声音确实更自然。

K&K音响的阿罗哈双拾音器双压电系统的尤克里里琴

带主动拾音器的尤克里里琴

有源拾音器使用的线圈要少得多,因为其电路包括一个通常由9V(或典型的CR2032 3V)电池供电的有源前置放大器。这意味着信号在尤克里里上或在尤克里里内立即被放大,甚至在到达扬声器单元之前就被放大。

四弦琴的有源拾音器

有源拾音器的线圈数量较少,意味着它们的自然输出较低(即在前置放大器之前),不容易受到背景噪音的影响,在这方面自然要安静得多。然而,主动式前置放大器意味着这些拾音器的输出增益通常也远高于无源型号。不过,请记住,动态范围会比较低。从音色上看,这些拾音器有时被描述为 "无菌 "或 "冷"。

到目前为止,最受欢迎的有源拾音器系统是L.R. Baggs FIVE.O四弦琴拾音器,基本上只有正面的评价。它的价格确实很高,约为150美元。

拾音器在四弦琴上的位置如何?

当你决定使用哪种拾音技术(无源或有源)后,你还需要考虑你想要的拾音类型。

声板传感器(SBT)拾音器

SBT拾音器是贴在尤克里里琴的琴身上的,比如K&K Sound Aloha Twin拾音器。它们可以被安装在内部或外部。这种拾音器在你拨动或敲击琴弦时,会捕捉到来自琴弦的振动。对于这些SBT传感器,定位是非常重要的,所以一定要仔细阅读说明书。SBT拾音器比UST(阅读)拾音器能使音色更自然、更饱满。

声板换能器拾音器 SBT

鞍下换能器(UST)拾音器

UST拾音器安装在琴桥的鞍座槽的底部。当你拨动或弹奏琴弦时,琴码会产生振动,这些振动会通过UST传送。它们的安装比较困难,因为它们需要为布线钻孔,而且你需要在拾音器和琴码之间有非常好的接触。非常受欢迎的有源拾音器L.R.Baggs FIVE.O是一个UST拾音器,经常被表演用的尤克里里琴手使用。

鞍座换能器(SBT)拾音器

SBT拾音器在琴弦和琴码之间滑动,并被琴弦紧紧固定,如Kremona(KNA)的UK-1。这提供了一个简单的安装,并且完全不需要对你的四弦琴进行修改。

用于尤克里里琴的不同换能器拾音器
从左到右。K&K Sound Aloha Twin音板换能器拾音器,L.R. Baggs FIVE.O鞍座下换能器拾音器,Kremona(KNA)UK-1鞍座换能器拾音器。

结论 - 带拾音器的尤克里里琴

希望这个小型的四弦琴拾音器指南能让你在研究哪种拾音器最适合你的时候有一个好的开端。主动还是被动?SBT、UST还是SBT?它们都有不同的音色,没有一种拾音器适合所有人的需要。

需要更多的投入吗?

如果你需要更多关于连接尤克里里琴和拾音器的信息,请随时联系我

也有兴趣知道更多关于如何阅读尤克里里琴标签的信息?

有问题吗?

订阅
通知
来宾

1 Comment
得票最多的
最新的 最古老的
内线反馈
查看所有评论
删除这些广告
不要出售我的数据

How To Connect A Ukulele To A Pickup

remove these ads

Bill, aka “Calypso_Poet” (on the legacy Ukuworld Forums) asked a very interesting question that I hadn’t come across before. He has an ‘acoustic’ ukulele and wanted to know how to electrify your ukulele. That means how to connect a ukulele with a pickup or in other words, how do you add some kind of pickup to your ukulele so that you can amplify it.

Pickup in Wikipedia’s words

A pickup device is a transducer that captures or senses mechanical vibrations produced by musical instruments. It then converts them to an electrical signal that is amplified using an instrument amplifier. The result? It produces musical sounds through a loudspeaker in a speaker enclosure.

I couldn’t have put it better myself. Pickups have been around since the 1950s. They enable us to amplify the sound coming from our ukulele. The same vibrations that are sent into your ukulele’s body to create that lovely ukulele sound can also be picked up by a pickup. That means you can amplify them and transmit them through a speaker. Using a ukulele with a pickup allows you to play for larger crowds. It also makes it possible to add cool amplification effects.

electric ukulele with hard gig bag and amplifier

A lot of different pickups have emerged recently, specifically for ukuleles. This can be quite confusing if it’s the first time you’ve looked at pickups. To keep things simple, you can divide them into two main groups: active and passive pickups.

Ukulele with passive piezo pickups

On guitars, passive or piezo pickups are the ‘original’ magnetic pickups. Without going into too much detail, they consist of many coils of copper wire around a permanent magnet, usually made of Alnico or Ceramic. The location of the magnet in proximity to the strings magnetises the strings so that they become magnetic as well.

When the strings vibrate, they disturb the magnetic field, causing an electrical current to pass through the copper wire which is representative of that specific vibration. This current can be amplified and converted into sound. The vast majority of guitar pickups are passive ones.

Ukulele passive pickups are constructed somewhat differently, but the principle is the same. Because of their construction, these pickups send the ‘raw’ signal coming from your ukulele strings to your amplifier or speaker (with a pre-amp). They give a fuller and more natural sound. They are also much lighter than active pickups (read on to find out why).

The problem with passive pickups is that the coils of wire involved can transmit a lot of hum and background interference. Passive pickups are also pretty sensitive to feedback when pushed hard. Another disadvantage is that they do need an external preamp. This means that you can’t directly plug your ukulele into a speaker. Any acoustic (guitar) amplifier will work just fine, though.

Greater dynamic range

Passive pickups, despite their drawbacks, have a greater dynamic range. If you’re the kind of player that likes to be able to move from whisper quiet to a screaming wail, a passive set-up is likely to suit your playing style best. What is more, these types tend to lose high frequency detail and enhance lower frequencies, giving them a warmer tone.

The Kremona (KNA) UK-1 ($69) is a passive ukulele pickup that is not all that difficult to install. It is quite popular, looks nice with its wooden casing, is easy to use, not intrusive for your ukulele at all and fits most ukuleles. The best way to install this is the moment that you’re changing your strings.

Kremona KNA UK-1 ukelele pickup passive piezo

If you want to kick it up at notch and aren’t afraid of drilling a (small) hole in your ukulele, the K&K Sound Aloha Twin double piezo pickup setup ($79) is perfect for you. K&K is a very popular manufacturer out there producing passive pickups not only for ukulele, but also for guitars, mandolin and banjo. While these are more intrusive to install at first, they offer almost no visible difference after installation. There’s also no hassle with reinstalling during every restring as is the case with the UK-1 by Kremona. Due to their “in-body” dual setup they do sound more natural.

aloha twin pickup dual piezo system for ukulele by K&K sound

Ukulele with active pickups

Active pickups use far fewer coils, because their circuitry includes an active preamp usually powered by a 9V (or typical CR2032 3V) battery. This means the signal is amplified immediately on or in the ukulele, even before it reaches a speaker unit.

active pickup for ukulele

The lower number of coils on an active pickup means that they have a lower natural output (i.e. before the pre-amp), are less susceptible to background noise, and are naturally much quieter in this regard. However, the active pre-amp means that these pickups generally have a far higher output gain than passive models as well. Do remember, though, that the dynamic range will be lower. Tonally, these pickups are sometimes described as ‘sterile’ or ‘cold’.

The most popular active pickup system by far is the L.R. Baggs FIVE.O ukulele pickup with basically only positive reviews. It does come at quite a hefty price tag of around $150.

What about positioning the pickup on the ukulele?

When you’ve decided which kind of pickup technique you want to use (passive or active), you’ll also need to think about the type of pickup you want.

Soundboard Transducers (SBT) Pickups

SBT pickups are stuck onto the body of your ukulele, such as the K&K Sound Aloha Twin pickup. They can be fitted on the inside or outside. This kind of pickup picks up the vibrations coming from the strings when you pluck or strum them. Positioning is very important with these SBT sensors, so always read the manual carefully. SBT pickups allow a more natural and fuller tone than UST (read on) pickups.

soundboard transducer pickup SBT

Under Saddle Transducer (UST) Pickups

UST pickups are installed in the bottom of the saddle slot in the bridge. The saddle will vibrate when you pluck or strum the strings, and these vibrations will be sent through the UST. They are more difficult to install as they require holes to be drilled for the wiring and you need a very good contact between the pickup and saddle. The very popular active pickup L.R. Baggs FIVE.O is an UST pickup and used frequently by performing ukulele players.

Saddle Block Transducer (SBT) Pickups

SBT pickups slide between the strings and the saddle and are held tightly by the strings, such as the Kremona (KNA) UK-1. This offers an easy installation and requires no modification to your ukulele at all.

different transducer pickups for ukulele
From left to right: K&K Sound Aloha Twin soundboard transducer pickup, L.R. Baggs FIVE.O under saddle transducer pickup, Kremona (KNA) UK-1 saddle block transducer pickup.

Conclusion – Ukulele with a pickup

Hopefully this mini-guide to ukulele pickups has given you a headstart when researching which pickup suits you best! Active or passive? SBT, UST or SBT? All of them have a different tonality and there is no one pickup that suits everybody’s needs.

Need more input?

Feel free to contact me whenever you need more information about connecting your ukulele to a pickup.

Also interested to know more about how to read ukulele tabs?

HAVE A QUESTION?

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
remove these ads
Do not sell my data