如何保养你的尤克里里琴

删除这些广告

在本指南中,我将给你一些关于如何保养你的尤克里里的提示。如何正确维护你的尤克里里,使它保持良好的状态?它又需要什么样的工作呢?

也许你想知道是否有必要定期重新上弦和清洁你的尤克里里琴。你知道你还需要检查湿度吗?你也可能想在旅行时使用一个袋子或箱子。

如何保养你的尤克里里琴?偶尔限制一下它

断弦的四弦琴,该重新上弦了

典型的阿奎拉尤克里里琴弦(高音音乐会中音、男中音)是很难磨损的。然而,在某些情况下,你可能会发现有迹象表明是时候重新上弦了。

  • 你发现自己比以前更喜欢给你的四弦琴调音了。
  • 琴弦的感觉不像以前那么光滑了。也许是由于把琴弦压在琴格上造成的凹痕。
  • 你的四弦琴不再那么好听了。声音不再像以前那样清晰、明亮和响亮。

在更换琴弦时,不要只更换那根已经不在状态的琴弦。要一次性更换所有的琴弦,因为其他的琴弦可能也已经磨损了。在任何情况下,旧琴弦都会有不同的张力。

如果你没有注意到这些迹象,那么你什么时候重新给你的尤克里里上弦就取决于你。这取决于你弹奏尤克里里琴的次数和 "力度 "如何。有些人几周后就换,但有些人几个月后才换。

我通常每4-6个月换一次,当然,当琴弦断裂时,你应该总是考虑重新给你的四弦琴上弦。

我应该担心湿度会影响我的尤克里里琴吗?

湿度会影响所有由木头制成的东西,尤其是木制乐器。请注意,实心尤克里里琴比夹层尤克里里琴受湿度的影响要大得多。正如维基百科所解释的,"湿度是空气中水蒸气的数量"。

木材是一种天然材料,在非常潮湿的条件下会膨胀,因为它吸收了水汽。木材会膨胀,从而导致变形,如琴颈的弯曲和音调的变化。当木材由于湿度低或减少而失去水蒸气时,它就会收缩。这可能会对你的尤克里里造成严重的损害,如开裂。

换句话说:要正确地照顾你的尤克里里,你需要考虑湿度的问题。

那么,什么是正确的湿度水平呢?适合尤克里里琴的湿度是45%到55%之间。世界上大多数地方的湿度都会在这些水平左右,但这在很大程度上取决于季节。如果湿度超过或低于这些限度几次并不重要,但如果湿度长期保持在一个非常低或非常高的水平,你应该开始考虑做一些事情。

那么你能做什么呢?

尤克里里加湿器,保持顶级的湿度水平
  • 太干燥。买一个像样的加湿器。现在有相当多的经济实惠的仪器加湿器。我最喜欢的是Oasis加湿器,我自己也在用。它真的很容易使用,并能很好地完成其工作。你也可以从同一家公司买一个湿度计,它可以相当准确地测量温度和湿度。不过,我也听说过达达里奥humidipak达达里奥ukulele加湿器pro(如上图)的好东西。我过去曾有机会与他们合作,可以真诚地推荐他们。
  • 太潮湿了。不幸的是,这个问题并不容易解决。你可能需要考虑为你放置尤克里里的房间投资一台除湿器。如果无法做到这一点,在不弹琴的时候,一定要尽量把它存放在有硅胶干燥晶体或凝胶的箱子里。

有必要用一个箱子吗?一个包还不够吗?

在决定你是否需要一个案件时,有几个因素需要考虑。归根结底,这确实是一个个人选择。

保护你的尤克里里琴的琴盒
  • 你打算用你的尤克里里琴做什么? 如果你经常旅行,你肯定应该考虑一个硬盒。如果您主要在家里演奏,只是偶尔带着您的尤克里里去朋友家玩,那么一个软包或袋子就足够了。这些五颜六色的HOT SEAL背包式尤克里里琴包只需20美元,并且有很好的填充物来保护你的尤克里里。但请记住前面关于湿度的部分。如果你住的地方湿度太高,箱子就会非常有用。
  • 你在你的四弦琴上花了多少钱? 如果你有一把50-100美元的尤克里里,可能真的不值得把它放在一个价格差不多的箱子里。如果你有一把200美元以上的尤克里里,那绝对值得考虑给你的尤克里里装一个硬壳。你有一把500美元以上的四弦琴吗?毫无疑问,买个琴盒吧!我一直以来最喜欢的琴盒是Kala的花呢琴盒。我用它来存放我的限量版Kala中音四弦琴,里面是实心的金色洋槐。不过我只有一个,因为它相当昂贵,要95美元。我过去能够测试并得到我推荐的更实惠的选择是Stagg的花呢琴盒GCX-UKTGator Cases的黑色琴盒。

想照顾好你的尤克里里吗?清洁它!

用这款邓禄普柠檬油保养你的尤克里里琴

你应该如何保养你的尤克里里琴?想一想,偶尔清洗一下吧。清洁尤克里里琴与清洁吉他几乎完全一样。

当你弹奏尤克里里时,你的手指会产生汗水,随着时间的推移,会损坏木材和漆面。汗水会聚集在表面,吸附更多的灰尘和污垢。

你如何解决这个问题?很简单:用一点Dunlop 65柠檬油。这是我知道的最好的指板清洁剂,我已经用了很多年了。每隔4-6个月给它擦一次,你的指板就会保持得像新的一样。

那么木材呢?简单的清洗和抛光就可以了,让它尽可能的光亮。除了指板清洁剂之外,邓禄普还生产一些非常好的抛光剂

总结

尤克里里琴是一种奇妙的小乐器,照顾它根本不需要太多时间。比如说,当你不演奏时,把它放在箱子或袋子里。如果你能正确地照顾你的尤克里里,你会更喜欢演奏它--一个被照顾得很好的乐器甚至会有更好的声音!

需要更多关于如何照顾你的尤克里里的意见吗?

如果你需要更多关于如何照顾你的尤克里里的信息,请随时联系我

也有兴趣学习如何解决你的尤克里里琴弦的嗡嗡声

有问题吗?

订阅
通知
来宾

2 Comments
得票最多的
最新的 最古老的
内线反馈
查看所有评论
删除这些广告
不要出售我的数据

How To Take Care Of Your Ukulele

remove these ads

In this guide I will give you a few tips on how to take care of your ukulele. How do you properly maintain your ukulele to keep it in good shape? And what kind of work does it require?

Perhaps you are wondering whether it is necessary to restring and clean your ukulele regularly. Did you know that you also need to check the humidity level? You also might want to use a bag or case when travelling.

How to take care of your ukulele? Restring it once in a while

ukulele with a broken string, time to restring

Typical Aquila ukulele strings (soprano, concert, tenor, baritone) are very difficult to wear out. However, in some circumstances you might notice signs that it’s time to restring.

  • You find yourself tuning your ukulele a lot more then you used to do.
  • The strings don’t feel as smooth as they used to feel. Maybe they have notches in them caused by pressing the strings against the frets.
  • Your ukulele doesn’t sound that good anymore. The sound isn’t as clear, bright and loud as it should be.

When replacing your strings, do not just replace that one string which is no longer in good shape. Replace all the strings at once, because the others are probably worn out as well. In any case, old strings will have a different tension.

If you have not noticed any of these signs, it is up to you when you restring your ukulele. It depends on how much you play your ukulele and how “hard”. Some people change them after a few weeks, but other people only do so after several months.

I usually change them every 4-6 months and of course you should always consider restringing your ukulele when a string breaks.

Should I worry about humidity affecting my ukulele?

Humidity affects everything made of wood and especially wooden instruments. Note that solid ukuleles are affected a lot more by humidity levels than laminated ukuleles. As Wikipedia explains, “humidity is the amount of water vapour in the air”.

Wood is a natural material that expands in very humid conditions because it absorbs vapour. The wood will swell, which causes distortions such as bending of the neck and changes in intonation. When the wood loses water vapour due to low or decreased humidity, it will contract. This can cause serious damage to your ukulele such as cracking.

In other words: to take care of your ukulele properly, you need to consider the humidity level.

So what is the right humidity level? The right humidity for ukuleles is between 45% and 55%. Most locations in the world will be around these levels but it can depend a lot on the season. It doesn’t matter if the humidity goes above or below these limits a few times, but you should start thinking about doing something if it stays permanently at a very low or very high level.

So what can you do?

ukulele humidifier to keep the humidity level top notch
  • Too dry: Get a decent humidifier. There are quite a few budget-friendly instrument humidifiers out there. My favourite is the Oasis humidifier, which I use personally. It is really easy to use and does its job well. You can also buy a hygrometer from the same company which measures the temperature and humidity level quite accurately. I’ve heard great things however about the D’Addario humidipak and D’Addario ukulele humidifier pro (pictured above) as well. I’ve had the opportunity to work with them in the past and can in good faith recommend them.
  • Too humid: Unfortunately this problem isn’t as easy to solve. You may need to consider investing in a de-humidifier for the room where you keep your ukulele. If that is not possible, always try to store it in a case with silica drying crystals or gel when you are not playing it.

Is a case necessary? Isn’t a bag enough?

There are a few factors to consider when deciding whether or not you need a case. Ultimately it really is a personal choice.

ukulele cases to protect your ukulele
  • What do you plan on doing with your ukulele? If you travel a lot, you should definitely consider a hard case. If you mainly play at home and only take your ukulele round to your friends’ houses now and then, a soft case or bag should be enough. These colorful HOT SEAL backpack type ukulele gig bags come in at only $20 and are padded very well to protect your ukulele. Keep in mind the previous section about humidity though. If humidity is too high where you live, a case can be very useful.
  • How much did you spend on your ukulele? If you have a $50-$100 ukulele, it probably isn’t really worth putting it in a case that costs about the same amount. If you have a $200+ ukulele it is definitely worth considering a hard case for your ukulele. Do you have a $500+ ukulele? There’s no question about it, buy a case! My all time favorite case is the tweed case by Kala. I use it to store my limited edition Kala tenor ukulele with solid golden acacia in. I only have one though as it’s quite expensive at $95. More affordable options that I were able to test in the past and get my recommendation are the tweed case GCX-UKT by Stagg and the black one from Gator Cases.

Want to take care of your ukulele? Clean it!

take care of your ukulele with this dunlop lemon oil

How should you take care of your ukulele? Think about cleaning it once in a while. Cleaning a ukulele is almost exactly the same as cleaning a guitar.

When you play the ukulele, your fingers produce sweat that can damage the wood and finish over time. It will collect on the surface and trap more dust and dirt.

How do you solve the problem? It’s simple: use a bit of Dunlop 65 lemon oil. This is the best fretboard cleaner that I know of and I have been using it for years. Give it a rub every 4-6 months and your fretboard will stay as good as new.

And what about the wood? A simple cleaning and polishing will do the trick, making it as shiny as possible. As well as fretboard cleaner, Dunlop also produces some very good polishers.

Conclusion

The ukulele is a wonderful little instrument, and it doesn’t take long at all to take care of it. When you are not playing it, for example, put it in its case or bag. If you take care of your ukulele properly, you’ll enjoy playing it a lot more – and a well cared-for instrument will even sound better!

Need more input on how to take care of your ukulele?

Feel free to contact me whenever you need more information about how to take care of your ukulele.

Also interested in learning how to fix your ukulele string buzzing?

HAVE A QUESTION?

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
remove these ads
Do not sell my data